God’s Love.

He loves you.

Hello everyone, today I want to share something that truly expresses God’s love for us. When I first heard it awhile back I listened to it over and again until I decided to get the words written down. These are words in the song reckless love by Cory Asbury, the live performance. Now the song as a whole is amazing but the words that he shares in explanation of the reckless love of God is on another level of amazing for me. For me it explains how no matter what I feel about me, the Lord loves me.

Luke 15:1-6 Now the tax collectors and sinners were all gathering around to hear Jesus. But the Pharisees and the teachers of the law muttered, “This man welcomes sinners and eats with them.” Then Jesus told them this parable: “Suppose one of you has a hundred sheep and loses one of them. Doesn’t he leave the ninety-nine in the open country and go after the lost sheep until he finds it? And when he finds it, he joyfully puts it on his shoulders and goes home. Then he calls his friends and neighbors together and says, ‘Rejoice with me; I have found my lost sheep.’

Jeremiah 31:3 The Lord appeared to us in the past,[a] saying: “I have loved you with an everlasting love;

“For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord” (Romans 8:38-39). 

Here goes…

God isn’t reckless, He is not crazy, we are however saying that the way He loves is in many regards quite so. What I mean is this, He is utterly unconcerned with the consequences of His actions with regard to His own safety, comfort and well being. His love isn’t crafty or sleek, it’s not cunning or shrewd, in fact all things considered it’s quite childlike, and might I even suggest sometimes downright ridiculous. His love bankrupted Heaven for you, for me, His love doesn’t consider Himself first, and it’s not selfish or self-serving. He doesn’t wonder what He will gain or lose by putting himself on the line. He simply puts himself out there on the off chance that you and I might look back and give Him that love in return. His love leaves the 99 to find the one every time and to many practical adults that’s a foolish concept. But what if He loses the 99 in finding the 1, right? Finding that one lost sheep will always be supremely important. His love isn’t cautious, it’s a love that sent His own son to die a gruesome death on a cross. There’s no plan B with the love of God. He gives His heart so completely, so preposterously that if we refused, we would think we irreparably broke Him. Yet He gives Himself away again and again and again…time and time again. Make no mistake our sins do pain His heart and 70 x 7 is a lot of times to get your heart broken and yet He opens up and allows us back in every single time. His love saw you when you hated Him and all logic said ‘He would reject me’ but He says ‘  I don’t care what it costs, I lay my life on the line as long as I get their hearts’.

Many times we fail to feel the love of God due to certain circumstances, but this is to encourage someone that the Lord sees you through it all and He doesn’t just see, He loves you through your ups and downs.

-dorothee

Author: dorothee

Well I am dorothee, a 25 year old with a passion for Jesus Christ.

3 thoughts on “God’s Love.”

  1. I like your comment that his love for us is downright ridiculous. What a neat way to put it. With all the things we do wrong, it is ridiculous that a perfect God would bother with us and love us; but he does. Hallelujah!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started